Hallow South, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hallow South, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Hallow South, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

HALLOW, a village and a parish in Martley district, Worcestershire. The village stands near the river Severn, and near the Worcester and Malvern railway, 3 miles NNW of Worcester; and has a post office under Worcester. The parish includes also the hamlets of Broadheath and Shoulton. Hallow Park, situated on a height commanding a fine view of the Severn, is the seat of Captain J. P. Lord. There are nurseries, marketgardens, and several neat villas. The living is a p. curacy, annexed, with Christ's Chapel, to the vicarage of Grimley, in the diocese of Worcester. The old church was rebuilt in 1830, and is now a mortuary chapel. Christ's chapel is in Broadheath. There is a Lady Huntingdon's chapel.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464211.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted: 08 October 2013.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 13:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,188 times.