Halse (Halsaa), Vest-Agder, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Halse (Halsaa), Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngVest-Agder County Gotoarrow.pngHalse

Guide to Halse, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Contents

Church Records

See Mandal Clerical District.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 34) for Mandal clerical district includes Halse, Harkmark, and Mandal parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.

Database at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

31 Aamland 40 Aarøen 46 Aurebæk 34 Ausland 52 Banken 41 Berge 21 Berge ytre 69 Bjermundshaven 72 Brattestø 43 Djubo 24 Dyrestad 29 Eskeland 23 Farestad 28 Frivold 64 Frostestad 51 Frøisland 40 Gismerøen 55 Haaland vestre 45 Haaland østre 70 Haddeland 52 Halsaa 52 Halsaafidjene 59 Haven 61 Hesland 40 Hesseldalen 82 Hille 49 Hjorteland 71 Hogganvig 62 Holte 62 Holtebakken 27 Homsvigen 71 Hoven 61 Hullet 79 Høksaas 40 Ime 37 Jaabæk 40 Kanten 40 Kasperboden 30 Kige 66 Klev 51 Kvislen 77 Lande 19 Landø 58 Lien 80 Lunde 81 Lundevig 40 Moen 54 Mones 33 Mønnesland 78 Naadeland 82 Nakkøen 56 Nordmandsheien 75 Oddan 50 Ormestad 44 Ro 22 Rosnes 60 Rosseland 63 Rosshaven 54 Rugland 68 Ræge 40 Rægevigen 67 Rødland 67 Rødlandstø 75 Saanum 65 Saksemoen og Raagan 47 Sandnes 52 Sjøsanden 57 Skadberg 51 Skarvøen 39 Skinsnes 74 Skjeipstad 25 Skjernøsund 62 Skjerpla 65 Skogsfjord vestre 53 Skogsfjord østre 18 Skogsø 18 Skogsødalen 36 Sti 42 Storaager 40 Strømsvigen 26 Stusø 39 Suggevigen 71 Søbodvigen 32 Tregde 35 Tufte 76 Tuftenes 20 Udø 73 Valle 24 Valvigen 48 Vig 55 Volden

Probate Records

Mandal judicial district
*1667-1887 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Kristianstad deanery
*1771-1810 Family History Library
*1771-1810 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,207 times.