Halstead, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Halstead, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Halstead, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Halstead, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Halstead PLU
Registration District Halstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HALSTEAD, is a town, and a parish. The town has a head post office, and a railway station. The parish contains also the hamlet of Greenstead Green. Holy Trinity was constituted a separate chapelry in 1844. Greenstead Green also is a separate chapelry. The head living, is St. Andrews, it is a vicarage, and Holy Trinity is a p. curacy, in the diocese of Rochester. The places of worship, in 1851, were the Church of England, Independents, Baptists, Quakers.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Halstead, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Halstead, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1564-1967
1564-1957
1564-1975
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformsit Churches
  • Independents
  • Baptists
  • Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241370.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Halstead on GENUKI

Halstead St Andrew on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870) Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 3,504 times.