Hamilton County, Ohio ResourcesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Ohio go to Hamilton County go to Resources

Contents

Getting Started

Research Guides

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Cemeteries

A list of Hamilton County's active cemeteries is in The Guide including their addresses, dates of establishment, indexes and/or websites.[1]  There is a map showing the locations of both current and defunct cemeteries.  The Guide also has an annotated list of active and defunct burial sites compiled by Mary H. Remler.  Hamilton County Genealogical Society (HCGS) has published many cemetery records. For a complete list, see HCGS Publications. In the FamilySearch Catalog, most cemetery records are cataloged in the community where they are located.

Cemetery Deeds and Lot Owner Deeds

Cemetery Records

Cemetery Records Available Online

BillionGraves: Searchable database for each cemetery, Google map, photos and transcriptions of headstones in each one.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Census

U.S. Population Census Schedules

Population schedules are widely available on microfilm and on the internet for 1820-1880, 1890 Veteran’s Census, 1900-1930 including indexes of varying quality and completeness. Published indexes can be consulted if you are unsuccessful finding your ancestor in the online indexes.  Tax and voter lists can serve as partial substitutes prior to 1820. 

See Ohio Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Hamilton County, OH census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®].

U.S. Nonpopulation Census Schedules

U.S. Special census schedules are available on microfilm through the NARA and on microfilm at the State Library of Ohio and Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County.

  • 1850 Agriculture: NARA T1159,Roll 4
  • 1860 Agriculture: NARA T1159, Roll 20
  • 1870 Agriculture Recapitulation: NARA T1159, Roll 31
  • 1870 Agriculture: NARA T1159, Roll 36
  • 1850 Industry: NARA T1159, Roll 12
  • 1870 Industry: NARA T1159, Roll 46
  • 1880 Industry: NARA T1159, Roll 94
  • 1850 Mortality: NARA T1159, Roll 14 also available on Ancestry.com 
  • 1860 Mortality: NARA T1159, Roll 29 also available on Ancestry.com
  • 1880 Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes: NARA T1159, Roll 99

State Census

There are no state census records for Ohio. Tax lists, voter lists and directories can be used as a partial substitute.[4]
Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Church Records

  • Numerous church records are available on microfilm at both the PLCH and through the Family History Library.  A list of microfilms at the PLCH is in their card catalog and in a Guide to Genealogical Resources in Cincinnati & Hamilton Co., Ohio, 6th Edition.[5]  Hamilton County Genealogical Society (HCGS) has published indexes tomany church baptismal, marriage and burial records. For a complete list, see HCGS Publications and ‘TRACER, Article Index, 1979-2008’. [6]
  • This is a partial listing of microfilm available through the Family History Library:  0974060, 1510039, 1510042, 1510044, 1510055, 1510056, 1510057, 1510072, 1514042, 1514059, 1514063, 1514070, 1548046, 1548049, 1630318, 1686036, 1686037, 1845262, 1902451, 1954690, 1955128, 1955202, 1987642, 1987643, 2020899, 2030565, 2048136.  A more complete listing is being prepared.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Court Records

In the courts outlined below, several state and federal courts are included.  Depending on the time period, these courts held either original or appelate jurisdiction for Hamilton Co., Ohio.

Justice of the Peace - Township

The University of Cincinnati Archives holds township Justice of the Peace records for the following townships: Cincinnati Twp Civil Docket (1846-1900), Cincinnati Twp Criminal Dockets (1860-1913), Cincinnati Twp Apprenticeship Book (1862-1898), Delhi Twp Criminal Docket (1853-1905), Millcreek Twp Criminal Docket (1853-1863, 1881-1890), Whitewater Twp Civil Docket (1860-1876, 1910-1911), Whitewater Twp Criminal Docket (1860-1931).[7]

Northwest Territorial Court 1787-1803

Court of Common Pleas/Cincinnati Municipal Court

The Hamilton County Clerk of Courts maintains the court records of Hamilton County and the Municipal court.  Many of the early court records have been moved to the University of Cincinnati Archives or the Cincinnati Historical Society.  The Hamilton County Clerk of Courts has the following records available on microfilm:  Naturalization Records (1850-1893), Declarations of Intent (1842-1926), Court Dockets (1884-present), Certified Judgments (1884-present), Pending Suits (1884-present), Judgments (1884-present), Law Suits and Divorces (1884-1994) and Criminal and Civil Records (1884-present).[8]  The Hamilton County Clerk of Courts has a searchable database of cases that indexes many of these records. Early records may only contain a list of litigants.  Many cases tried after 1884 involved property or estates from earlier time periods that named litigants as 'heirs of' many early Ohio settlers.

Probate Court

Estate settlement matters were handled by different courts in different time periods. See Probate below.

Digitized records: Minister's Licenses (1963-1975), and Physician Certificates (1919-1987).  See also Probate and Immigration, Naturalization and Citizenship.

The University of Cincinnati Archives holds many of the county's Court of Common Pleas and Probate Court original records.  For a partial list of UC Archives holdings, see A Guide to Genealogical Resources in Cincinnati and Hamilton County, Ohio, 6th Edition[9] or Inventory of Government Documents for Eight Counties of Southwest Ohio.[10] 

Hamilton Co. District Court 1851-1883

Hamilton Co. Circuit Court 1883-1912

The FHL has Hamilton County Circuit Court Records 1844-1847 with a Diary, 1856-1861 of Charles Morton as a manuscript on microfilm FHL Film 897439 Item 2.

Ohio Supreme Court 1803-present

Prior to 1851, the Ohio Supreme Court sessions involving Hamilton Co., Ohio cases were held and recorded in Hamilton County. Many of the records were lost due to courthouse fires. Prior to 1823, there was no provision for recording Ohio Supreme Court decisions. From 1823-1851 the court met annually in Columbus to review cases that decided questions of law - these sessions were referred to as the Supreme Court in bank.[11] The decisions of the Supreme Court in bank were published in a series of books titled, Cases decided in the Supreme Court of Ohio in bank. The following published court record books are available through Google books:

U.S. Federal District Court 1803-present

The U.S. Federal District Court Records from 1803-1982 are in Record Group 21 at the Chicago Branch of the NARA. The U.S. Federal District Court Records include 7 volumes of Chancery Record Books, 1869-1915. Chancery records can be rich sources of genealogical information as they include the records of disputed estate settlements.  The US Federal District Court also has Naturalization Records, 1852-1966.

Place of Recourse: History of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District Court for the Southern District of Ohio, 1803-2003 provides a detailed history of the court including many examples.  The history is particularly helpful to researchers as it details the evolution of the court and its jurisdictional history.

U.S. Federal Circuit Courts 1807-1911

The U.S. Circuit Court Records from 1807-1911 are in Record Group 21 at the Chicago Branch of the NARA.  The U.S. Circuit Court Records include 90 volumes of Chancery Record Books, 1828-1911.  Chancery records can be rich sources of genealogical information as they include the records of disputed estate settlements.
Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Directories

  • The PLCH Virtual Library has City Directories for the following years available online:  1819, 1825, 1829, 1831, 1834, 1836-7, 1839-40, 1842,1843, 1846, 1848-1941. “Cincinnati and Hamilton County Directories”[12] gives an excellent analysis of available directories and their use in research. The article includes a detailed accounting of changes in directory listings and contents over time including pointing out directories with unique personal or historical content.
    Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

African American

American Indian

Germans

Germans in Hamilton County, Ohio wiki page.

Genealogy

Miami Valley Genealogy Index is an index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley including Hamilton County.

The Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County has a card index of personal names found in many local histories and manuscript materials.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

History

The Local History Card Catalog at the PLCH is an index of many Hamilton County histories and materials.  The name index includes the source name, call number and page  where a reference to the individual can be found.  Many unusual and rare books are included in the index.

The Cincinnati Historical Society has an index to local histories available online. One of the books indexed is Cist's Sketches and Statistics of Cincinnati in 1851. It is available online. It includes a list of churches and the ministers that year.

Digital Journals is an online collection of journals published by Cincinnati Museum Center, the Cincinnati Historical Society and the Cincinnati Museum of Natural History.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Land and Property

Maps

Volumes 1-4, 1904-1930, of Cincinnati Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are now available on the PLCH Virtual Library. For the geographic areas covered by each volume, go to the volume’s first page following the index pages.  See also Hamilton County, Ohio GenWeb, Maps.
Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Migration

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Hamilton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hamilton County:

Cincinnati was an inland port at the time of the Civil War.  It was not unusual for Hamilton County residents to serve in the Navy.
Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Naturalization and Citizenship

The Hamilton County Probate Court has digitized and made available many different records including Naturalizations (1856-1906).

The UC Archives has indexed Hamilton County Ohio Citizenship Records, 1837-1916. The indexes are available online at their website. Hamilton County

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Newspapers

Obituary Indexes and Marriage Indexes for some newspapers and some time periods are available on the HCGS website.

Newsdex (incomplete) is a partial index to local newspapers maintained by the PLCH.  Not all years and newspapers are included in the index.  A description of the contents can be found on the PLCH website.

The Guide includes a list of newspapers available at the PLCH.[13]

The Cincinnati Historical Society has an extensive collection of Hamilton County newspapers, both microfilm and original.

The Library of Congress, Chronicling America has an online directory of newspapers and repositories holding them.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Periodicals

  • The Tracer (journal) and The Gazette (newsletter) are published by the HCGS.  Recent back issues are available on the website.  Older issues are available on CD or as individual issues through HCGS.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Probate Records

  • The Hamilton County Probate Court has digitized and made available many different records types including Estates 1791-1984, Wills 1791-1973, Trusts 1791-1984, Guardianships 1791-1984 and Probate Court Journal Entries 1791-1837. Probate Court Journal Entries have been transcribed in Abstract of Book 1 and Book A, Probate Record 1791-1826; Abstract of Book 3, Probate Record 1829-1834; and Abstract of Book 4, Probate Record, 1834-1837.  These books are available on CD through HCGS.  The original books are held by the University of Cincinnati Archives - designated as 'Original Entry Books'.
  • The University of Cincinnati Archives has indexed Hamilton County Ohio Wills, 1791-1901.
  • The Hamilton County, Ohio Genealogical Society is currently creating a master index of Will Books 1918-1973.  If you would be interested in participating, please contact HCOGSIndexing@gmail.com.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Taxation

Duplicate Tax Records of Hamilton County, Ohio 1816-1838 is available on FHL microfilm and at the Ohio Historical Society.  These were copies of the tax records that the Hamilton County auditor sent to the state.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

Vital Records

While some 19th century registrations exist, they are incomplete due to lack of compliance and courthouse fires.  More complete records are available after mandatory state registration in 1908.   See "Hamilton County, Ohio Vital Records,"[14] "Hamilton County Probate Court Records Online at Last!"[15] and "Probate Court Records Update - Indexes to Vital Records"[16] for further information about Hamilton County vital records and their availability. 

Free and Paid ($) Name Indexes and Images Available Online
Court or Health Department
Images
Indexes

Description
Hamilton County Probate Court Births 1863-1908
Ohio Births and Christenings 1821-1962
With the volume and page number from FamilySearch Record Search, the original records can be viewed at the Hamilton County Probate Court.
Cincinnati Health Department
Births 1865-1912
See images

The images are of the card index to the original records.  The original records were too fragile to image.  Both the card index and the originals are held by the University of Cincinnati Archives
Hamilton County Probate Court
Marriages 1808-1983
Ohio Marriages, 1800-1958
With the volume and page number from FamilySearch Record Search, the original records can be viewed at the Hamilton County Probate Court.
Ohio Health Department

Ohio Marriage Index, 1970, 1972-2007

Ancestry.com ($). Partial index to State of Ohio marriage registrations that include registrations of Hamilton County residents.
Hamilton County Probate Court
Deaths 1881-1908
Ohio Deaths and Burials 1854-1997
With the volume and page number from FamilySearch Record Search, the original records can be viewed at the Hamilton County Probate Court.
Cincinnati Health Department
Deaths 1865-1912
See images

The images are of the card index to the original records. The original records were too fragile to image. Both the card index and the originals are held by the University of Cincinnati Archives.
Ohio Health Department

Ohio Deaths 1908-1953

Ohio Deaths 1908-1953

Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, widowed or divorced, occupation of deceased. 
Ohio Health Department

Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2007

Ancestry.com ($). Partial index to State of Ohio death registrations that include registrations of Hamilton County residents.
Hamilton County Probate Court Ohio, County Births, 1856-1909 Ohio, County Births, 1856-1909
Birth record journals, 1863-1908, index, 1846-1908.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

  1. Terheiden and Burck, Guide.
  2. Jim Dempsey, "TRACER, Article Index, 1979-2008," Hamilton County Genealogical Society, (http://www.hcgsohio.org/tracerarticleindex.pdf : accessed February 2011).
  3. Dempsey, "TRACER, Article Index, 1979-2008."
  4. Kip Sperry, Genealogical Research in Ohio, 2nd Edition (Genealogical Pub. Co., Inc.: 2003), p. 58-59.
  5. Terheiden and Burck, Guide
  6. Dempsey, 'TRACER, Article Index, 1979-2008.'
  7. Archives and Rare Books Department, University of Cincinnati, Inventory of Government Documents for Eight Counties of Southwest Ohio, revised edition, (Cincinnati: University of Cincinnati, 1993).
  8. Terheiden and Burck, Guide.
  9. Terheiden and Burck, Guide
  10. Archives and Rare Books Department, UC, Inventory of Government Documents for Eight Counties of Southwest Ohio.
  11. Ohio. Supreme Court. Ohio Supreme Court Reports of Cases Argued and Decided in the Supreme Court of Ohio, Vol. 1, 1852-1853 (Columbus, Ohio: Osgood and Blake, 1853).
  12. Bill Graver and Deb Cyprych, “Cincinnati and Hamilton County Directories,” The Tracer 27 (September 2006): 65, 71-74.
  13. Terheiden and Burck, Guide
  14. Deb Cyprych, "Hamilton County, Ohio Vital Records," The Tracer 27 (March 2006): 8.
  15. Deb Cyprych, "Hamilton County, Ohio, Probate Court Records: Online at Last!," The Tracer 31 (February 2010): 1, 6-9.
  16. Liz Stratton,"Probate Court Records Update - Indexes to Vital Records," The Tracer 31 (November 2010): 102.

Back to Hamilton County, Ohio

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:15.
  • This page has been accessed 9,129 times.