Hammersmith St Paul, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Hammersmith St Paul

Contents

Parish History

Hammersmith St Paul was established as a parish by the year 1631.

'HAMMERSMITH (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Kensington, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from London.'[1]

St Paul's Hammersmith had several chapels within its boundary. Here's a list of all known Churches and Chapels of St Paul Hammersmith in Pre-1900 of the Church of England.

In the parish were found chapels for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, a Roman Catholic Chapel at Brook-Green.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hammersmith St Paul Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1666
.
Images
1801-1813 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1826 Ancestry[3] 1801-1826 Ancestry[4] 1812-1826 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1666-1837 FindMyPast[6]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[7]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438806.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

A 1915 survey of monuments within the church and in the churchyard is available online.[8]

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 387-391. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 23 April 2010). Adapted.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Paul, Hammersmith in Hammersmith and Fulham Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Hammersmith St Paul in Hammersmith and Fulham Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Hammersmith St Paul in Hammersmith and Fulham Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Hammersmith St Paul in Hammersmith And Fulham Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. 'Parish church of St. Paul', Survey of London: volume 6: Hammersmith (1915), pp. 16-32. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=98033 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,449 times.