Hampsthwaite, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hampsthwaite, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Knaresborough PLU|
|Registration District||Knaresborough; Pateley Bridge|
|Parish registers: 1603|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1632|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
HAMPSTHWAITE (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Birstwith, Felliscliffe, Menwith with Darley, and Thornthwaite with Padside, 2500 inhabitants, of whom 455 are in the township of Hampsthwaite, 1½ mile (S. W. by W.) from Ripley. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP =findmypast (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£) (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|IARC = Archive.org|
|HAMPSTHWAITE PARISH (1603) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1603.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464250.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 20:47.
- This page has been accessed 2,758 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News