Handforth St Chad, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Handforth St Chad, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.pngCheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Handforth St Chad

Contents

Parish History

Handforth St Chad was created as a chapel of ease to Cheadle St Mary's  to relieve the journey of nearly five miles to St Mary’s Church in Cheadle,. The Chapel was consecrated on 29 June 1837.  A church was built on adjacent land and became the parish church in 1877.

Handforth St Chad  served Handforth cum Bosden and parts of Cheadle.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.


Church records

Gatley Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Gatley Chapelry (1882) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1840-1909
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Handforth, 1840-1941 The chapelry of Handforth is in the township of Handforth-with-Bosden, in the parish of Cheadle.Cheshire Record Office reference: P10/1/1, P10/3410/1.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1840-1895. BRITISH 1656720 Item 4
Baptisms, 1896-1941. BRITISH 2069091 Item 4

Bishop's transcripts for Cheadle and Handforth, 1610-1888 Includes the Chapelry of Handforth-[with-Bosden].
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 48

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Record Search  

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1610, 1630, 1633, 1635-1643, 1663-1685, 1689-1691, 1695, 1727, 1731-1735, 1737-1738, 1744-1824. Baptisms, 1825, Marriages Jan-Feb 1825. BRITISH 1655427
Marriages Feb-Dec 1825, Jan-Aug 1834. Burials, 1825. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1826-1833. Baptisms, 1834. BRITISH 1655428
Marriages, Aug-Dec 1834. Burials, 1834, Jan-Feb 1885. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1835-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1852, 1873-1884. BRITISH 1655429
Baptisms, burials, 1885-1886, 1888. BRITISH 1655478 Item 1

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts

  • Stockport

registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Stockport/Stockport.shtml

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 965 times.