Hannah cum Hagnaby and Markby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hannah cum Hagnaby and Markby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hannah cum Hagnaby and Markby, Lincolnshire|
Hannah-cum-Hagnaby St Andrew Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Louth PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Markby beginning 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561; Separate records exist for Markby beginning 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
The Ancient parish of St Andrew Hannah cum Hagnaby which included Hagnaby, Hagnaby Lock and Markby.
In antiquity Hannah was known as Hannay. The church, located in Hannah, is dedicated to Saint Andrew and is a Grade I listed building, built of greenstone about 1758, with early 19th century, and some 20th century alterations.
Hagnaby Priory, later Hagnaby Abbey, was situated in Hagnaby.
This parish should not be confused with Hagnaby, Lincolnshire
HANNAY, or HANNAH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Louth, Wold division of the hundred of Calceworth, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 3½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Alfordwith the hamlet of Hagnaby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
This parish was in the Withern sub-district of Louth registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Hannah cum Hagnaby Par 1 will identify available images.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 17:09.
- This page has been accessed 2,158 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News