Hapton, Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hapton, Lancashire)

Contents

History

Hapton St Margaret,Manchester Road  was founded in 1914 within the Whalley, Lancashire parish.

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

HAPTON, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the East Lancashire railway and on the Liverpool and Leeds canal, 3 miles WSW of Burnley. It has a station on the railway. Acres, 3,570. Real property, £8,634; of which £4,520 are in mines, and £300 in quarries. Pop. in l851, 550; in 1861, 1,003. Houses, 177. The increase of pop. arose from the extension of cotton spinning. There are also chemical works. Old seats here belonged to the Haberghams and the Shuttleworths; and the chief property now belongs to Charles Townley, Esq. There is an endowed school; and the schoolroom is used for religions worship.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

St Margaret CofE Church Hapton Lancashire.jpg


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records


Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 576 times.