Harford, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Harford, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harford, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ermington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plympton St Mary PLU
Registration District Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1724
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARFORD, a parish, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, hundred of Ermington, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of Devon, 2½ miles (N.) from Ivy-Bridge. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harford, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Harford, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241309.

Transcriptions for the 1841 to 1911 censuses for Harford Parish, Devon may be found at http://genuki.cs.ncl.ac.uk/DEV/Harford/index.html#Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Information about Harford parish, Devon may be found on the Online Parish Clerk webpages at http://cornwood-opc.com/harford

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-413. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' FindMyPast, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,462 times.