Harlow, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Harlow, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Harlow StMary & St Hugh contributor Peter Stack
|Poor Law Union||Epping PLU|
|Parish registers: 1755; Separate registers exist for Harlow St John the Baptist beginning 1841and for Harlow St Mary Magdalene beginning 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Harlow, is a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred in Essex. The village stands adjacent to the Eastern Counties railway, near the river Stort and the boundary with Hertfordshire, it is 6 miles SSW of Bishop-Stortford. The parish contains also the hamlet of Potterstreet. St. Mary's church stands about 2 miles S of the parish church. There are two Baptist chapels. The sub-district contains eight parishes, and is in Epping district. The hundred contains ten parishes and part of another.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St mary and St Hugh
See also All Saints Mission Church, St John the Baptist, St Mary Magdalene, Fore Street Baptist Church and Potter Street Baptist Church and the Monumental Inscriptions of Foster Strret Protestant Dissenters Burial Ground for [Old]Harlow
Harlow, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Harlow, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Harlow on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
- ↑ Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 15:39.
- This page has been accessed 3,786 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News