Harris County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Harris County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Harris County Courthouse
1001 Preston 4th Floor
Houston, TX 77251-1525
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and land records from 1836, probate records
form late 1800’s, court records from 1920’s and
immirgration records 1880-1890; District Clerk has divorce
P. O. Box 1525
201 Caroline, Suite 420
Houston, Texas 77002
P.O. Box 4651
1836--Harris County was created 17 March 1836 from Old Mexican Municipality. County seat: Houston 
See an interactive map of Harris County border changes.
Places / Localities
Baytown | Bellaire | Bunker Hill Village | Deer Park | El Lago | Fairbanks | Galena Park | Hedwig Village | Hilshire Village | Houston | Humble | Hunters Creek Village | Jacinto City | Jersey Village | Katy (partly in Fort Bend and Waller Counties) | La Porte | Morgans Point | Nassau Bay | Pasadena | Piney Point Village | Seabrook | Shore Acres | South Houston | Southside Place | Spring Valley Village | Taylor Lake Village | Tomball | Webster | West University Place
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- At Rest: A Historical Directory of Harris County, Texas Cemeteries (1822-2001) Including Burial Customs and Other Interesting Facts, With a Listing of Past and Present Communities, Funeral Homes and Monument Companies, by Trevia Wooster Beverly, Houston: Tejas Publications & Research, c. 1995; 2001.
- Glenwood Cemetery established in 1871 by the Houston Cemetery Company
- Washington Cemetery established in 1887 by the Deutsche Gesellschaft von Houston
- Houston & Texas Death Records Webpage: Containts Indexes to:
- Fogle West Funeral Home
- Alief Cemetery, Houston
- Crosby Cemetery, Barrett One of two cemeteries on FM 1942, the other is just north of this one.
- Earthman Resthaven Cemetery, Houston
- Ehrhardt Cemetery, Houston
- Evergreen Cemetery, Crosby
- Houston National Cemetery, Houston
- Hufsmith Cemetery (also known as Bogs Cemetery), Tomball
- Olivewood Cemetery, Houston
- Sacred Heart Cemetery, Barrett One of the cemeteries on FM 1942 described above.
- Saint John Cemetery, Cypress
- Willow Creek Cemetery, Tomball
- de Zavalla Cemetery, Channelview
- Rice University Yearbooks: 1916-1935
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Harris County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
- Map of 1897 Harris County, Texas with numerous small settlements. (My Genealogy Hound)
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harris County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Houston Chronicle Newspaper
- Kingwood Observer Obituary Index 1993-2008
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Texas newspapers including Galveston from the early 1800's.
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
- Harris County Clerk Searchable Indexes http://www.cclerk.hctx.net/applications/websearch/
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- [https://familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://familysearch.org/searchapi/search/collection/2031191 Texas, Ma
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 (FamilySearch) - The name index was created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903 and in many counties prior to 1910. Fold3.com also has Texas Deaths, 1890-1976 ($) available online.
- Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch) - Index to Texas statewide death certificates covering 4 million deaths since 1964.
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Harris County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 391
- Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research
Part of the Houston Public Library system it is on its own two full city block complex with multiple buildings. One of the nations' "top ten," and the "jewel" in Houston's genealogy crown.
- Baytown Historical Preservation Association
PO Box 1244
Baytown TX 77522-1244.
Living History Museum Complex at the Republic of Texas Plaza
5117 North Main St.
- Humble Area Genealogical Society
Following ancestral footsteps in and around Atascocita, Crosby, Huffman, Kingwood, New Caney, Porter, Splendora, and Humble, Texas.
- Chaparral Genealogical Society
310 North Live Oak
P.O. Box 606, Tomball
Library Hours: Mon.- Wed. 10-2 Sat. 10-2
Closed 4th Sat. of every month.
- Atascocita-Kingwood Genealogical Society
Atascocita-Kingwood Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 5214
Kingwood, TX 77325
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Baytown Texas Family History Center
- Clear Lake Texas Family History Center (Houston)
- Houston Texas Family History Center
- Houston Texas North Family History Center
- Katy Texas Family History Center
- Kingwood Texas Family History Center
- Klein Texas Family History Center
- Pasadena Texas Family History Center
- Pine Trails Texas Family History Center (Houston)
- Shadowdale Texas Family History Center (Houston)
- Tomball Texas Family History Center
- Harris County Family History and Genealogy, a part of the TXGenWeb and USGenWeb projects.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harris County, Texas. Page 665 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 21 August 2015, at 01:00.
- This page has been accessed 18,988 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News