Harrison County, Ohio GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Harrison County, Ohio)

United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Harrison County

Guide to Harrison County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records

Harrison County, Ohio
Boundary map of Harrison County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Harrison County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Harrison County Courthouse
100 West Market Street
Cadiz, Ohio 43907
Harrison County Website


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Neighboring Counties

Tuscarawas County  • Carroll County  • Jefferson County  • Belmont County  • Guernsey County

Harrison CountyJefferson CountyColumbiana CountyStark CountySummit CountyHolmes CountyCoshocton CountyMuskingum CountyGuernsey CountyNoble CountyBrooke CountyBelmont CountyHancock CountyOhio CountyMarshall CountyFayette CountyWashington CountyGreene CountyAllegheny CountyWestmoreland CountyBeaver CountyMonroe CountyWayne CountyCarroll CountyTuscarawas CountyOHHarrison1.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses


Bible Records


Business Records and Commerce


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories





Names in Stone


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups




Local histories are available for Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Commemorative Biographical Record of the Counties of Harrison and Carroll, Ohio, (J. H. Beers and Company, 1891). Digital copy at Google Books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:




  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Morgan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County.
- 98th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies C and F

Naturalization and Citizenship


Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form




Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records



Harrison County Courthouse
100 W Market Street
Cadiz, OH 43907-1132
Phone: 740.942.4623

Clerk Court has divorce and court records from 1813;
Probate Judge has birth records to 1917, marriage and
probate records; County Health Office has birth records
from 1917, death and burial records; County Recorder
has land records[1]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.



  • 1800–1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. Name index of tax records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. The majority of the tax records in this collection are for the years 1816 through 1838. Currently (September 2012) this collection is 17% complete. Additional records will be added as they are completed.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.


Online Birth Indexes and Records
Original Birth Records on Microfilm


Online Marriage Indexes and Records
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm


Online Death Indexes and Records

Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased. Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm


Web Sites


Populated Places


  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 October 2015, at 14:33.
  • This page has been accessed 18,199 times.