Hartburn St Andrew, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland

Hartburn St Andrew Northumberland.jpg


Parish History

Hartburn St Andrew is an Ancient Parish and includes: Corridge, Deanham, East Shaftoe, East and West Thornton, East Thornton with Mulldon-Park Corner, Fairnley, Favinley, Greenleighton, Hartburn Grange, Hartington, Hartington Hall, Harwood, High Angerton, Highlaws, Long Witton, Longshaw, North Middleton, Rothley, South Middleton, Todridge, Wallington Demesne, West Shaftoe, and Whitridge

HARTBURN, a parish, in the unions of Castle ward, Morpeth, and Rothbury, chiefly in the W. division of Morpeth ward, but partly in the N. E. division of Tindale ward, N. and S. divisions of Northumberland; containing 1322 inhabitants, of whom 30 are in the township of Hartburn, 7 miles (W.) from Morpeth. This parish comprises the townships of High and Low Angerton, Cambo, Corridge, Deanham, Favinley, Greenleighton, Hartburn, Hartburn-Grange, Hartington, Hartington-Hall, Harwood, Highlaws, Long Witton, North and South Middleton, Rothley, East and West Shaftoe, East and West Thornton, Todridge, Wallington, and Whitridge. It is of very irregular form, nearly 11 miles in length, and 6 in mean breadth, and comprises about 40,000 acres, of which 105 are in the township of Hartburn. The surface is agreeably diversified with hill and dale, and the soil is various; the lands are wholly inclosed, excepting Harwood township, and nearly all profitable for almost every description of husbandry. The lower grounds are watered by the rivers Hart and Wansbeck. Stone of different kinds is quarried; and there are some lead-mines and coal-pits in operation. The village of Hartburn consists of the church, the parsonage, called Hartburn Tower, the school-houses, glebe farmhouses, and two cottages; which stand on the rocky and steep banks of the burn from which the place derives its name. The living is a vicarage, valued in the king's books at £20. 0. 10., and in the patronage of the Bishop of Durham, with a gross income of about £800; John Clayton and Isaac Cookson, Esqrs., and others, are impropriators. The late Rev. John Hodgson, the learned author of six 4to. volumes of a highly valuable History of Northumberland, was vicar. The church, a venerable structure romantically situated, consists of a chancel, nave, and aisles, with a porch and tower; on the south side of the altar are a piscina, and three stalls with pointed arches. Cambo chapel was beautifully rebuilt in 1843.From: 'Harrietsham - Hartfield', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51009 Date accessed: 10 March 2011.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/124 Date: 1769-1845
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Hartburn, St Andrew: Records of baptisms 1678-1893, marriages 1681-1903 and burials 1682-1900 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms and marriages 1678-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1679-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms and marriages 1678-1812 and burials 1682-1812 for Hartburn are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept

Transcripts of monumental inscriptions at Hartburn (microfiche TN76) and Cambo (microfiche TN79) are published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Morpeth Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 16:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,463 times.