Hathersage, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hathersage, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Hathersage, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hathersage, Derbyshire
Hathersage St Michael Derbyshire.jpg
Hathersage St Michael Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell; Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1627
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eyam
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HATHERSAGE, formerly Heather-Edge (St. Michael), a parish, in the unions of Bakewell and Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High-Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (N. by E.) from Bakewell; comprising the chapelries of Derwent and Stony-Middleton, the township of Hathersage, and the hamlets of Bamford and Outseats. There are chapels at Stony-Middleton and Derwent; and the Wesleyans and Roman Catholics have places of worship. [1]


Hathersage is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Bamford, Bamford Moor, Outseats, and Stoke.

Hathersage Grave Derbyshire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hathersage parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Hathersage St Michael (1627) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1627-1903
  NONE
1629-1912
  NONE
1628-1912
  NONE
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hathersage on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 441-444. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,326 times.