Haverhill, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Haverhill, Suffolk)
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes
Haverhill, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford; Risbridge
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Risbridge PLU
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clare
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAVERHILL (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Risbridge, partly in the hundred of Hinckford, N. division of Essex, but chiefly in the hundred of Risbridge, W. division of Suffolk, 20 miles (S. W.) from Bury St. Edmund's, and 56 (N. N. E.) from London.[1] See also.[2]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

  • Parish Records: 1660
  • Bishop Transcripts: 1563

Haverhill, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Haverhill, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1670-1837

IGI 1826-1828
NBI

1749-1885

Non-Church of England denominations identified in Haverhill include:

  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Quakers (Society of Friends)

FamilySearch Catalog Entries for Haverhill, Suffolk

Courtesy of the Haverhill Family History Group:


Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474641.



Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Maps and Gazetters

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 444-447. Date accessed: 17 April 2014.
  2. Wilson, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870 to 1872. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 00:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,602 times.