Haverton Hill, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Haverton Hill, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Haughton Hill, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haverton Hill, Durham
Type Chapelry Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1862
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAVERTON-HILL, a chapelry in Billingham parish, Durham (which also see); on the river Tees, and the Clarence railway, 2 miles NW of Middlesborough. It was constituted in 1862 and the chapel built by 1866; and its post town is Billingham, under Stocktonupon-Tees.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Billingham (with Haverton Hill) stood within the Stockton Registration District.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bishop's transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however the parish register images await loading by engineers. Registers commence from 1866.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Availability

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/128  1866-1872 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1866-1966 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL EP/Hav).

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.


Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,447 times.