Haworth, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Haworth, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-IGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Haworth

Guide to Haworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haworth, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Keighley
Registration District Keighley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645; For more records see Bradford [St Peter]
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

HAWORTH, a chapelry, in the parish of Bradford, union of Keighley, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 3 miles (S. W.) from Keighley; containing 6303 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Haworth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free
HATH = HathiTrust - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
HAWORTH CHAPELRY (1645) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1645-1910
FREG 1645-1787, 1798-1800, 1836-1850 1645-1850 1645-1787, 1798, 1837-1850
FS 1645-1847






 BRADFORD PARISH (1596) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1666-1912






For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Haworth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bradford to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BRADFORD PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464255.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 450-454. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,350 times.