Hayfield, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Hayfield, Derbyshire
Hayfield St Matthew Derbyshire.jpg
Hayfield St Matthew Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Hayfield PLU
Registration District Hayfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1622
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hayfield is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1733 from chapelry in Glossop, Derbyshire  Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Great Hamlet, Kinder, and Phoside.

HAYFIELD, a chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Glossop, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (N. by W.) from Chapel-en-le-Frith; comprising the townships of Brownside, Bugsworth, Chinley, and Hayfield. There are places of worship for Independents at Chinley, and for Methodists at Hayfield and Chinley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hayfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Hayfield St Matthew Chapelry (1622) Parish (1733) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1622-1880
  NONE
1635-1912
  NONE
1634-1865
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Includes the hamlets of  Great Hamlet, Hayfield, Kinder and Phoside. New Mills St George parish (see Beard, Derbyshire) includes hamlest prior to 1831 which were within this parish and Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside, Derbyshire were also previously within the boundary of the parish.

Not licensed for marriages 1760-1836

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2426 has deposited registers Bap 1622, 1635-1648, 1663-1958 Mar 1635-1648, 1666-1759, 1837-1992 Burials 1635-1648, 1663-1993 Banns 1837-1872, 1834-1969


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241290.

Poor Law Unions

Hayfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 450-454. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,271 times.