Hazlewood, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hazlewood, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Hazlewood, Suffolk
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plomesgate
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Plomesgate PLU
Registration District Plomesgate
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Aldeburgh
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Orford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAZLEWOOD, a parish in Plomesgate district, Suffolk; near the coast, 2 miles NW of Aldborough rail station. Situated about 5 miles to the southeast of Saxmundham and 1 mile northwest of Aldeburgh. The old parish of Hazelwood is now incorporated into Aldeburgh, Aldringham and Friston (now in Saxmundham).[1] [2]

Template:The following paragraphs are boiler plate and must be verified for correctness.

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hazlewood, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Hazlewood, Suffolk Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1623-1812

FSBOOK 1623-1812
1623-1812
1637-1812
IGI 1623-1812
JOIN
1623-1812

NBI

1637-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474645.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://www.saxmundham.org/aboutsax/surroundingparishes.htm Saxmundham.org website] Accessed: 22 March, 2013.
  2. Wilson, John Marius, 'Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72), GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Hazlewood in Suffolk Coastal | Map and description, Date accessed: 17th April 2014.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 925 times.