Heage, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Heage, Derbyshire
Heage St Luke Derbyshire.jpg
Heage St Luke Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish records: 1819
Bishop's Transcripts: 1819
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Duffield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Heage St Luke is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1784 from chapelry in Duffield Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Ambergate, Black Horse, Boothgate, Cackleton, Nether Heage, and Toadmoor.

HEAGE, a chapelry, in the parish of Duffield, union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 5 miles (S. W.) from Alfreton. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Heage parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Heage St Luke (1819) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1819-1912
  NONE
1847-1897
  NONE
1847-1912
  NONE

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 456-459. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 830 times.