Helion Bumpstead, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Helion Bumpstead, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Helion Bumpstead, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freshwell
County Cambridgeshire and Essex
Poor Law Union Risbridge
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sampford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office


Parish History

BUMPSTEAD-HELION (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Risbridge, hundred of Freshwell, N. division of Essex, 3¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Haverhill.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Bumpstead-Helion, 1558-1970 in Essex at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Bumpstead-Helion, 1800-1874 in Essex at FHL

Non Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-431. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 May 2015, at 22:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,572 times.