Henderson County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Henderson County

Guide to Henderson County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records



Henderson County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Henderson County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 15, 1838
County Seat Hendersonville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Henderson Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Henderson County Courthouse
200 N Grove St Suite 129
Henderson, NC 28792-5053
Phone: 828-697-4901

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1914,
marriage record from 1800 and  rec from 1837
Clerkk superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1841[1]

Register of Deeds
200 N. Grove Street, Ste. 129
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Phone: 828-697-4901
Fax: 828-697-4933
Website

Clerk Superior Court
200 N Grove St Ste 163
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Phone: (828) 694-4100

History

Parent County

1838--Henderson County was created 15 December 1838 from Buncombe County.
County seat: Hendersonville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nchenderson.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Henderson County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.


Church Records

Baptist
  • French Broad, near Mills River, N.C. Organized before 1792.[3] Previously located in Buncombe County.

Court

Education

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
:- [[1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves- Confederate

|1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves]], Company C
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
:- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company D
:- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company G

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
Death
Marriages
  • 1906-1929 - Henderson County Marriage Index 1906-1929. Batch B868464 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Divorces

Societies and Libraries 

Henderson County Gen. & Historical Society
P.O. Box 2616
Hendersonville 28793-2616

Henderson County Genealogical & Historical Society
Inc.400 North Main Street
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Phone: 828-693-1531
E-mail: hcghs@bellsouth.net
Henderson County Genealogical and Historical Society, Inc

Buncombe County, North Carolina
128 Bingham Road, Suite 950
Asheville, North Caroling 28806
Phone: 828-253-1894
Old Buncombe Genealogical Society


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henderson County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. "French Broad Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2015, at 17:09.
  • This page has been accessed 10,616 times.