Henfynyw, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Henfynyw, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngHenfynwy

A guide to genealogy in Henfynwy, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Henfynwy is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. The community also includes the villages of Ffos-y-ffin, Llwyncelyn and Derwen-gam.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

HÊNVYNYW (HÊN-VYNYW), a 'parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 14 miles (N.W. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish, which is washed on one side by the waves of the fine bay of Cardigan, in St. George's channel, is separated from the parish of Llandewy Aberarth by the powerful stream of the Aêron and contains about two thousand acres of land the soil of which is various, being in some places argillaceous and wet, and in others of a good quality for the produce of corn. It is intersected by the turnpike road from Cardigan to Aberystwith, and the neighbourhood is characterized by that varied and strikingly bold scenery which prevails on this part of the Welsh coast. The church, dedicated to St. David, is a neat plain edifice consisting only of a nave and chancel, situated in a remarkably large cemetery. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists; and several Sunday schools chiefly connected with the dissenters.[1]

For more information see Henfynyw at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464302.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 613 times.