Henllan, DenbighshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
- For other places with a similar name, see Henllan
"HENLLAN (HEN-LLAN), a parish in the hundred of Isaled, county of Denbigh, 2 miles (N.W.) from Denbigh, containing 2703 inhabitants. This parish, which is fifteen miles in length, and in some parts more than seven in breadth, though averaging about four, extends from St. Asaph, on the north-east, to the source of the river Alwen, near Llanrwst, on the south-west. ..... The village is partly within the limits of the borough of Denbigh... The church, dedicated to St. Sadwrn, was taken down, and rebuilt upon an enlarged scale, in 1806... There are places of worship for Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists in the village, and for the latter also in the townships of Eriviatt and Lleweny, and one for Independents in the towship of Uwch-Caeran.." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
For more information see Henllan at Genuki
|before 31 March 1974||Denbighshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Denbighshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464320. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Henllan at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 18:02.
- This page has been accessed 381 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More