Henllan Amgoed, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngHenllan Amgoed

A guide to genealogy in Henllan Amgoed, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with a similar name see Henllan

Henllan Amgoed is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is in the community of Henllan Fallteg.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

HÊNLLAN-AMGOED (HÊN-LLAN-AMGOED) a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (W.N.W.) from St. Clear's, on the old road from Llanboidy to Narberth containing the chapelry of Eglwys Vair a Chyrig. This parish, which is situated on the river Tâf, is more than three miles in length, and two in breadth, and is for the most part inclosed and cultivated. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians. The Rev. Nathaniel Rowlands, son of the celebrated Daniel Rowlands, of Llangeitho, was buried at this place; he was chaplain to the Duke of Gordon, and to Lady Huntingdon, and was one of the most popular preachers of his time. There is a place of worship for Independents, from which five other places of worship in the neighbourhood have originated.[1]

For more information on Henllan see Henllan at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 647 times.