Hennock, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hennock, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Hennock, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hennock, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Teignbridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Moreton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

HENNOCK (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Teignbridge, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (W. N. W.) from Chudleigh. It is bounded on the east by the North Teign river, and comprises 3052 acres, of which 70 are common or waste land. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hennock, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Hennock, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1541-1748

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241324.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Hennock on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 478-482. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2015, at 19:34.
  • This page has been accessed 2,030 times.