Henry County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Henry County


Henry County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Henry County (established 1821) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records


Henry County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Henry County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Henry County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: November 7, 1821
County Seat Paris
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Quick Dates

Henry County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1881 1838  1881  1830  1822  1822 

County Courthouse

Henry County Courthouse
 100 W Washington Street
Paris, TN 38242-0024
Phone: 731.642.2412

Register of Deeds has land records
County Clerk has birth, marrige, death and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records. [2]

Henry County Courthouse, Paris, Tenn. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Henry County Courthouse
P.O. Box 7
101 West Washington St.
Paris, TN 38242
Phone: 1-731-642-2412

Henry County Clerk
Birth, Marriage, Death and probate records
101 W. Washington St.
P.O. Box 24
Paris, TN 38242
Phone: 1-731-642-2412

Henry County Register of Deeds
Land records
213 W. Washington St., 2nd floor
P.O. Box 44
Paris, TN 38242
Phone: 1-731-642-4081

Henry County Circuit Court Clerk
P.O. Box 429
Paris, TN 38242
Phone: 1-731-642-0461

Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

History

Governor Patrick Henry (1736-1799)

West Tennessee county on the Tennessee River. Established 1821.

The county is named after Virginia Governor Patrick Henry (1736-1799).[3]

Parent County

1821--Henry County was created 7 November 1821 from Chickasaw Indian Lands.
County seat: Paris[4]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (male)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

  • Lost census: 1890
  • Lack of marriage records: 1821 to 1837

Although these are not burned records, applying strategies used for burned counties may aid in compensating for their loss. For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bethlehem Hearndale Mount Vista (hist.) Pleasant Hill
Buchanan Hilltop New Boston Porter Court
Chickasaw Heights India New Hope Puryear
Como Jones Mill Nobles Routon
Conyersville Liberty Oak Grove Salem
Cottage Grove Mandels (hist.) Oak Hill Spring Creek
Elkhorn Manleyville Oakland Springville
Foundry Hill Mansfield Old Springville Sunny Side
Freeland Meadow Mead Osage Van Dyke
Haglerville (hist.) Midway Pace (hist.) Whitlock
Haigler Ridge Mill Creek Palestine
Hancock Moons Paris
Henry Mount Pleasant Pine Hill

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Tnhenry.png

Getting Started

Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Henry County biography, cemetery, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

Research Guides

African American

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Cemeteries

Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

The following websites may contain Henry County cemetery records:

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Henry County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Henry County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1820

  • McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy 1820, pre-Henry county area (Stewart county, Tennessee, census) Paris, Tennessee : G.B. McNutt, c1989 FHL US/CAN book 976.832 X2

1830

  • McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy 1830 census, Henry county, Tennessee (Stewart county, Tennessee, census) Paris, Tennessee : G.B. McNutt, c1989 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X2

1840

  • McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy 1840 census, Henry county, Tennessee (Stewart county, Tennessee, census) Paris, Tennessee : G.B. McNutt, c1989 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X2

1840 Pensioners

1850

  • Gossum, Mary Louise and Simmons, Don Henry County, Tennessee, census of 1850 Melber, Kentucky : Simmons Historical Pub., 1994 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X2
  • Cooper, Gloria and Family History Center (Paris, Tennessee) Everyname index to the 1850 census of Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : The Center, 2001? FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X22

1860

  • Brink, Elizabeth and Family History Center (Paris, Tennessee) 1860 everyname census index, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : The Center, 2001? FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X22

1870

  • Brink, Elizabeth and Family History Center (Paris, Tennessee) 1870 everyname census index, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : The Center, 2001? FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X22

1880

  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara 1880 census Henry County, Tennessee Nashville, Tennesse : B. Sistler and Associates, 2001 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X2
  • McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy 1840, pre-Henry county area (Stewart county, Tennessee, census) Paris, Tennessee : G.B. McNutt, c1989 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X2
  • Brink, Elizabeth and Family History Center (Paris, Tennessee) 1880 everyname census index, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : The Center, 2001? FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X22

1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 2 1891. [Henry County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1900

  • McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy 1900 census index, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : G.B. McNutt, c1989
    FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X2
  • Cooper, Gloria and Family History Center (Paris, Tennessee) 1900 everyname census index, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : Family History Center, 1999 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X22

1910

1920

  • Cooper, Gloria and Family History Center (Paris, Tennessee) 1920 everyname census index, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : Family History Center, 1999 FHL US/CAN book 976.834 X22

1930

Church

Baptist
Church of Christ

Court

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Henry, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 35,000 entries.

Bibliography

  • [Beasley] Lockhart, William Thomas. The Beasley Family of Benton, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys and Stewart Counties of Tennessee. Florissant, Missouri: W. Lockhart, 1985. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B38Lw.
  • [Clark] Gilbert, Thomas Graves. Francis Clark of Louisa County, Virginia: and His Descendants in Carroll County, Tennessee: Family Members of Michael Clark of England and Barbados and His Son Francis Clark of Louisa County, Virginia, the Migration of His Sons to Anson County, North Carolina and Descendants to Henry Weakley and Carroll Counties of Tennessee. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2004. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C547gt.
  • [Freeman] McClellan, Susan Webb and Freeman, Adeline Adeline Freeman : Mormon Pioneer Bountiful, Utah : Family History Publishers, 1998 Available at the Family History Library FHL 929.273 F877 with a digital version through FamilySearch Books Online
  • [Fowler] Arthur, Glenn Dora Fowler (Mrs. James Joyce Arthur).Annals of the Fowler Family, with Branches in Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi, California, and Texas. Austin, Texas, published by the author, 1901. Free digital copy.
  • [Green] Williams, Mary Lou. Our Southern Family: The Greens, Malcolms, Thomas, Cooper, Williams and Magness Families of Kentucky and Tennessee. Warren, Mich.: M.L. Williams, 1970. FHL US/CAN Film 874443 Item 5.
  • [Hagler] Tayloe, Stephanie Routon. The Hagler Family of Henry Co., Tenn. Buchanan, Tenn.: S.R. Tayloe, 2002?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H123t.
  • [Haymes] Tayloe, Stephanie Routon. The Family of William Henry Haymes of Henry County, Tennessee. Buchanan, Tenn.: S.R. Tayloe, 2000?. FHL US/CAN Book 929.273 H332t.
  • [Humphreys] Humphrey, Leonard. Humphreys of Prince George, Maryland, Caswell-Rockingham Counties, N.C., Henry County, Tennessee, Greene-Putnam-Sullivan Counties, IND, ... FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H884hL.
  • [Jones] Jones, Henry Earl. Henry Earl Jones. Fairhope, Ala.: H.C. Jones, 1988. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 J71je.
  • [McMurtry] McMurtry, Brian L. The West Tennessee McMurtry Family: A Synopsis of the Lives and Historical Background that Surrounded the McMurtry Family of Humphreys, Benton, and Henry County, TN. Newburgh, Ind.: B.L. McMurtry, 2006. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M229mb.
  • [Row] Information about the family of Adam Row, Family Folders, Kentucky State Archives, Frankfort, Ky.
  • [Sanders] Tayloe, Stephanie Routon. Sanders Family of Henry Co., Tennessee. Buchanan, Tenn.: S.R. Tayloe, 2004. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sa56ts; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online .
  • [Simmons] Simmons, Samuel William. Descendants of John Simmons of North Carolina, 1760. Typescript, 1979. FHL 1266737
  • [Wharton] Wharton, Richard. Richard Wharton Papers, 1863 - 1906. Book contributor: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A diary, letters and other writings including his service in the Confederate Army , letters relating to family matters, a genealogy of the Wharton family, poems and speeches. Free digital copy, courtesy: Internet Archive.
  • [Williams] Williams, E. Ray. The Williams Families of Henry County, Tennessee. Paris, TN: E.R. Williams, 1971. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W67wer; FHL US/CAN Fiche 6046888; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • [Wilson] King, Stephen Lynn. William Duncan Wilson : Sgt. Co. K 46, Tenn. Inf., Confederate States Army, Sept. 15, 1841- Mar. 21, 1936. Bowling Green, Ky.: S.L. King, 1986. FHL FAM HIST Book 921.73 W699k.

Historic Residences

Land

  • Henry County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1822 and is located at the Courthouse, P.O. Box 24, 100 W Washington St., Paris, TN 38242; telephone (731) 642-2412. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries
  • Henry County Deed Books Vol. 1-1822-1825. Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($). Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
  • Henry County Deed Books Vol. 2-1825-1827. Simmons Historical Publications. Digital version available at World Vital Records ($). Available for purchase at Simmons Historical Publications.
  • Whitley, Edythe Rucker. Tennessee Genealogical Records: Henry County "Old Time Stuff." 1968; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company, Inc. by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1998. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes some early deed abstracts.]
  • The Family History Library has microfilmed copies of deeds 1821-1899; Land entry books 1820-1886; surveyers report books 1826-1905; and ranger books (stray livestock) 185601873.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
  • Whitley, Edythe Rucker. Tennessee Genealogical Records: Henry County "Old Time Stuff." 1968; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company, Inc. by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1998. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes a list of legislative petitions from residents of Henry County covering the years 1821 to 1855.]

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

The following Henry County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1960):65-68. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Hamilton County pensioners (p. 68)]
  • Whitley, Edythe Rucker. Tennessee Genealogical Records: Henry County "Old Time Stuff." 1968; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company, Inc. by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1998. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes 1883 List of War of 1812 Pensioners.]

Civil War

Civil War service men from Henry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Henry County.

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers 

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Henry County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Henry County click on the following city: 

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Henry County.]

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Henry County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
Family Findings
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Henry County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search to retrieve them.
West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w.
The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds

Prisons

Learn if your Henry County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!

Probate

The County Court has responsibility for the probate records of Henry County.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Wills index, 1822-1844
  • Wills, 1822-1939 (14 vols.)
  • Bonds, 1856-1968 (7 vols.)
  • Guardian records, 1867-1925 (2 vols.)
  • Inventories, Sales, 1886-1928 (4 vols.)
  • Letters, 1882-1968 (7 vols.)
  • Settlements, 1839-1938 (19 vols.)

The following Henry County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:

  • [1839-1860] Dunlap, Linda S. The Complete Index to Henry County, Tennessee Trustees, Administrators, Executors and Guardian Bonds, 1839-1860. Paris, Tennessee: W.G. Rhea Public Library, [2003?]. (FHL book 976.834 P22dL.)
  • [1822-1866] Dunlap, Linda S. The Complete Index to Henry County, Tennessee Wills and Administrations, Volumes A-H, 1822-1866. [No publication information.] (FHL book 976.834 P22d.)
  • [1822-1988] McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy. Henry County, Tennessee 1822-1988 Wills Index. Paris, Tennessee: G.B. McNutt, 1988. (FHL book 976.834 P22m.)
  • [1856-1905] McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy.Henry County, Tennessee, Intestate Records Index: Administrators, Executors, Guardianship Bonds. Paris, Tennessee: G.B. McNutt, 1988. (FHL book 976.834 P22mg.)
  • [1822-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]
  • Whitley, Edythe Rucker. Tennessee Genealogical Records: Henry County "Old Time Stuff." 1968; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company, Inc. by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1998. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes will indexes 1856-1863, 1879-1902, some earlier will abstracts, as well as estates, guardians, orders, etc.]
  • USGenWeb's Henry County page has links to some Henry County wills.

Simmons Historical Publications has abstracted and indexed various volumes of Henry County wills. Copies may be purchased at their webiste. The following are available online at the subscription website World Vital Records ($):

Taxation

The original Henry County Tax Books 1827-1873 were microfilmed by TSLA in 1969. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1011525-1011526.

The following Henry County tax records have been abstracted:[8]

  • [1823] Inman, W.O. "Pen Sketches" Index: Henry County, 1824 Land Sale for Taxes (Unpaid for 1823). n.p.: W.O. Inman, n.d. FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 R42i.
  • [1823] Sheriff's Sale for Taxes, March Term 1824, Henry Co., Tenn., Family Findings, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Apr. 1972). For access, see Periodicals.
  • [1827-1835] Historical Records Project. Tax Books, 1827-1835, Henry County, Tennessee. Typescript, Tennessee State Library, Nashville, Tenn. Microfilmed in 1943. FHL US/CAN Film 24700.
  • [1827] McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy. Henry County, Tennessee, 1827 Tax List. Paris, Tenn.: G.B. McNutt, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 R4m 1827
  • [1836] Hughes, Thomas Proctor. "Henry County, Tennessee 1836 Tax Record," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 28, No. 2 (Summer 1981):59-64; Vol. 28, No. 3 (Fall 1981):135-140. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 28 (1981); digital version at society's website. For further access, see Periodicals.
  • [1836] Douthat, James L. 1836 Henry County, Tennessee Civil District and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
  • [1836] Tax Lists, 1836, Tennessee Genealogy and History, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Apr. 1997).
  • [1890] McNutt, Gwyn Bellamy. Henry County, Tennessee, 1890 Tax List. Paris, Tenn.: G.B. McNutt, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 R4m 1890.

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

  • W.G. Rhea Public Library. Genealogy Department. Compilation of Henry County, Tennessee Vital Records, 1764-2002. 2 vols. Paris, Tenn.: W.G. Rhea Public Library, 2002-2003. FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 V3c v. 1 ff. [Information drawn from cemetery records, marriages, and funeral home records.]
Birth
Marriage

Marriages were not officially recorded in Henry County until 1838, when a law was passed mandating the practice.[9] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:

  • Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.

The following Henry County Courthouse marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:

  • 1835-1950 - Tennessee County Court (Henry County) Marriage records, 1835-1950 Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1996. FHL US/CAN Film 2032072 item 2, 2031503 items 1 and 2, 2031557-60, 2031712-17, 2031885-90, 2032002-8, 2032069-72
  • 1838-1915 - Henry County Marriage Index 1838-1915 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[7]
  • 1838-1858 - Whitley, Edythe Rucker. Tennessee Genealogical Records: Henry County "Old Time Stuff." 1968; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company, Inc. by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1998. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes abstracts of some marriages recorded between 1838 and 1858.]
  • 1838-1867 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
  • 1838-1880 - Inman, W.O. Henry County, Tennessee marriages Paris, Tennessee : Friends of the Library, Paris-Henry County Public Library, [1974] FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 V25h v.1-3
  • 1838-1955 - Henry County, Tennessee Register of Deeds Marriage records, 1838-1955 Nashville, Tennessee : Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1969. FHL US/CAN Film 575016-22 and 1011504-11
  • 1881-1900 - Charles D. Robbins and Johnny D. Walker Record of marriages, Henry County, Tennessee Paris, Tennessee : C.D. Robbins, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 V2h
  • 1901-1920 - Elaine Graff, Linda Dunlap and W.G. Rhea Public Library (Paris, Tennessee) Henry County, Tennessee marriages Paris, Tennessee : W.G. Rhea Public Library, [2002?]-[2003?] FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 V2g
  • June Johnson, Linda Dunlap, Charles Conger Henry County, Tennessee marriages : performed by Charles Conger [S.I. : J. Johnson, 1997?] FHL US/CAN Book 976.834 V2j
  • Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
  • Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($).  Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
Divorce

In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Henry County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death

For deaths of Methodists in Henry County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Henry County Genealogical Society
P.O. BOX 1411
Paris, TN 38242
Phone: 1-731-644-9040
W.G. Rhea Public Library
400 W Washington St
Paris, TN
Phone: 1-731-642-1702
Hours: Mon., Wed., Fri., Sat 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
Tues. and Thurs. 9 a.m.-7 p.m.
Genealogical Resources: The W.O. Inman Room is housed in the Rhea Public Library and has a variety of resources including Birth, Marriage, and Death Records, Military Records, Divorce Records, Estate Records, Newspapers including the Paris Post-Intellegencer and TriCounty Star, Funeral Home Records, Cemetery Records, Census Records, and Land Records. For more information, see the Henry County Archive and Genealogy Library website.
West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Phone: 1-731-881-7060
Hours vary by semester
The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.
West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
Phone: 1-901-475-6608
E-mail: efrank@memphis.edu


Family History Centers

Online catalog

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.


Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Henry County, Tennessee

References

  1. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Henry County, Tennessee page 640, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 640. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 7.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.
  8. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  9. Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL US/CAN Book 973 B2ng v. 81 (1993)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 16:58.
  • This page has been accessed 22,561 times.