Hermitage, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hermitage, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Hermitage

Guide to Hermitage, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hermitage, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

HERMITAGE, a district chapelry, in the parish of Hampstead-Norris, union of Wantage, hundred of Faircross, county of Berks, 4 miles (N. E. by N.) from Newbury. [1]

Hermitage is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1840 from Hampstead Norreys Ancient Parish; Exact boundary unknown with a railway station. Genuki.org.uk lists this as a chapelry in the parish of Hampstead Norris.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Hermitage, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Hermitage, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 588795.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

Hermitage chapelry in parish of Hampstead Norris (Hampstead Norreys) in GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 482-491. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 October 2015, at 20:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,358 times.