Herne Bay Christ Church, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Herne Bay Christ Church, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

HERNE BAY, a town and a chapelry in Herne parish, Kent. The town stands on the coast and on the Kent Coast railway, 4 miles E by N of Whitstable, and 8½ NE by N of Canterbury.[1]


Herne Bay is town and civil parish. Herne Bay Wikipedia

Herne Bay Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed in 1849 from Herne, Kent Ancient Parish in the Westbere deanery of the Diocese of Canterbury.

The Parish Church of Christ Church, Underdown Road which dates from 1834 has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The Church of St Bartholomew, King Edward Avenue, Herne Bay has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building and was built from 1913 onwards. See Kent Churches website

Herne Bay Baptist Church, High Street, has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

SeeBlean Registration District Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Herne Bay Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Herne Bay Christ Church Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1841-1912 1841-1912 1841-1916 1841-1916 1841-1866 1841-1866

Herne Bay St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Herne Bay St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1899-1912 1899-1912 1899-1928 1899-1928

Census records

Census returns for Herne 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Blean Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson'sImperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,250 times.