Heskestad, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway Gotoarrow.png Rogaland County Gotoarrow.png Heskestad

Guide to Gambia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Church Records

Heskestad was part of Helleland clerical district until 1820 when it became part of Lund clerical district. Records begin in 1713. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Helleland and Bjerkreim with Øvrebygd chapel. Included Heskestad parish until 1820 when it became part of Lund clerical district. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

An extract of the church records of Helleland in Rogaland county, 1713- 1834. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Helleland / Heskestad: 1713-1817

Lund / Heskestad: 1791-1925

Lund / Lund, Heskestad: 1833-1854

Census Records

  • 1663-1666: Tax lists (Manntall) for Stavanger Amt now Rogaland Fylke.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1664-1666 This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. A database of this census is available at Digitalarkivet.
  • 1701: Tax lists (Manntall)
  • 1701: The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.Mantallet (Census) 1701 for Stavanger Amt (Rogaland County)
  • 1758:

Sjeleregister (Census) Helleland Digitalarkivet original images of the sjeleregister.

  • 1801: Census

Helleland clerical district includes Helleland, Bjerkreim, and Heskestad parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Digitalarkivet 1801 -telling (census) for Helleland

  • 1865: Census

Lund Census This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Digitalarkivet 1865 -telling for Lunde

  • 1875: Census

Heskestad Parish in Lund Clerical district This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. for Heskestad Parish in Lund Clerical District

  • 1900: Census

Kopervik Census 1900 This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Digitalarkivet 1900-telling for Bjerkreim

  • 1910: Census

Countdown for the publication of the 1910 census by Digitalarkivet

Court Records

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Dalane judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Dalane deanery.

Availability

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1867 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Dalane judicial district
*1823-1882 Family History Library
*1867-1882 Digitalarkivet.

Dalane deanery
*1729-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1729-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Heskestad police station
*1923-1964 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book

A genealogy of the people and their farms in Hetland skipreide (a coastal district whose inhabitants in the Viking period were responsible for manning and equipping a warship) in Rogaland county. These two vols. cover Heskestad and Helleland parishes for a 450 year period. Includes some history.

Heskestad, Olav and Valand, Petrus, "Hetland skipreide i 450 år", Eigersund: Utgitt av Eigersund og Lund kommuner, 1971. 948.31 D2v Vols 1 FHL Intl Book

Waula, Jørg Eirik, "Personregister til Heskestad sokn gard, ætt og folk", Stavanger, Norway : Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1997. An index to: "Hetland skipreide i 450 år" (v. 1 Heskestad gard, ætt og folk / Petrus Valand og Olav Heskestad). 948.31 D2v v. 1 index FHL INTL Book

Farm Names

18 Aamdal østre 2 Aasen 13 Bilstad 8 Birkemoen 7 Bjuland 10 Bjørnemoen 32 Drange 21 Dybing 30 Eide 38 Eigeland vestre 33 Eigeland østre 1 Eigelandsdalen 32 Feden 23 Fjelle 5 Førland 22 Førnes 37 Grøsfjeld 25 Grøssereid 3 Gya 4 Gystøl 16 Hauge 11 Helleren 20 Heskestad 19 Hetland 13 Hoktuen 34 Kolestrand 26 Langhus 13 Legen 31 Moen 15 Ollestad 12 Refsland 24 Røiseland 29 Sandsmork 39 Skailand 35 Steine 9 Tekse 36 Tjørn 17 Ueland 6 Urdal 14 Vashus 27 Øiestad nedre

Bilstad, Birkemo, Bjuland, Bjørnemo, Drange, Dybing, Eide, Eikeland, Eikelandsdalen, Fjella (Fjelde), Førland, Førnes, Grøsfjell, Grøssereid, Gya, Gystøl, Hauo (Hauge, Høye), Helleren, Heskestad, Hetland,

Kolestrand (Kolestrond, Kalvestrand), Langhus, Moen, Ollestad, Revsland (Refsland), Røysland, Sandsmork, Skailand, Steine, Tekse, Tjørn, Ualand, Urdal, Vasshus, Øystad, Åmdal, Åsen

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Valand, Petrus; Heskestad, Olav: Hetland Skipreide i 450 år bind I. Utgitt av Eigersund og Lund Kommuner 1971


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2015, at 18:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,755 times.