Hetland (Frue), NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngRogaland County Gotoarrow.pngHetland

Guide to Hetland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Books

Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Hetland (Frue), Riska (Riskekverven) and Randaberg (Randeberg). They were separated from the combined Stavanger clerical district in 1849. Earlier church records are in the Cathedral church parish (Domkirken) in Stavanger city. Riskekverven (Riska) was separated from Frue and became its own parish in 1877.

Transcripts of church records of christenings 1688-1815 and births 1816-1839 for Stavanger including Hetland and Randaberg. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.


Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarket. Hetland / Frue: 1850-1939

Hetland / Frue, Randaberg: 1849-1869

Stavanger / Domkirken, Frue: 1688-1857

Stavanger / Domkirken, Frue, Randaberg: 1688-1727, 1733-1751, 1841-1851

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Hetland clerical district includes Hetland, Frue, and Randaberg (Randeberg) parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Stavanger Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Stavanger Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Stavanger Database

Court Records

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Jæren judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Jæren deanery. `

Availability

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1860 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet.

Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1763-1821 Digitalarkivet.

Hetland police station
*1883-1968 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book

There is no farm book for Frue (Hetland).

Farm Names

18 Auglend 7 Austbø 23 Berge 21 Bispe-Ladegaarden 16 Bogenes 12 Dale 28 Dusevigen 12 Egren 23 Eigeland 31 Finnestad 28 Fjeldsenden 13 Furaas 15 Gaudesæd 14 Gausel 23 Giljeland 23 Godal 10 Hellesøen 22 Hillevaag 17 Hinna 30 Hoie 6 Husebø 16 Jaatten 11 Kalvøen 23 Krossen 21 Kvaleberget 9 Lindøen 4 Lunde 2 Lunde nordre 3 Meling 21 Nyhagen 23 Præstegaarden 23 Ramsvigen og Rævedalen 21 Sandvigen 5 Skeie 23 Sletten 23 Solheim 8 Steinsøen 27 Stokke nordre 23 Strømvigen 16 Svartholen 21 Svingen 23 Svingen 23 Sørnes 29 Tastad nedre 26 Tjensvold nedre 16 Tresnippen 17 Tunet 10 Tunsøen 24 Ullenhaug 21 Vaaland 16 Valeberg 14 Veigaard

HESKESTAD SOKN Band I: 

Bilstad:  Stigtens Landsk (Bispegods), Leidang, Bilstadt, Manntall, Koppskattemanntallet, Folketellingen, Hestad, Revsland, Tore Revsland, Grøsfjell, Ramsland, Heskestad,

Dybing, Vierak-Bilstad, Skjerpe, Helleland, Tekse, Vasshus, Sokndal, Eide, Vermund, Flekkefjord, Bowitz, Sokndal, Helleland, Sandsmark, Bowitzfamilien, Tjørn, Ramsland, Revsland, Ramsli, Skjelbreid, Helleren,

Hovland, Rapstad, Håland, Ollestad, Birkemo, Karakter, Hogstad, Tengesdal, Taksten, Takst, Birkemo, Møgedal, Strømstad, Nordre Hetland, Eikeland, Stavanger, Toretjørn, Vasshus, Steinberg, Egersund,

Østre Eikeland, Botna, Tønnes, Gya, Ollestad, Steine, Tjenere, Heskestad, Hetland, Grødseland, Gyland, Sådde, Rekevik, Taksert, Skyld, Sokndal, Årstaddalen, Sebulon, Hokktuen, Stavanger, Høyland, Hybelhuset,

Hokktuen, Førland, Dalheim, Spødervoll, Vignes, Egersund, Florø, Svanø, Varhaug, Sverige, Sandnes, Ålgard, Vestre Eikeland, Førland, Grøssareid, Mydland, Ualand, Ueland, Bjuland, Strangeland, Time,

Helleren, Steine, Statsbanene, Sverige, Romsdal, Søyland, Barnløse, Gildeskål, Solum, Ragnhildstveit,

Avaldsnes, Sarpsborg, Nordbø, Rennesøy

Birkemo:  Birkemoen, Til Helleland, Birchemoen (ødegrd.), Bierchemoe, Sokndal, Sikkert, Birkemo, Revsland, Ualand, Bilstad, Birkeland, Gystølskiftet, Gya, Wibye, Gudahlen, Hetland, Grossareid, Takst,

Hovland, Høyland, Dybing, Bakke, Tekse, Hogstad, Kvivåg, Foreldre, Hekestad, Takst, Bjørnemo, Rapstad, Djupedal, Barnløse, Eigerøy

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,596 times.