Hetton le Hole, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Hetton le Hole, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hetton le Hole, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Houghton le Spring PLU
Registration District Houghton le Spring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HETTON-LE-HOLE, a township and chapelry, in the parish and union of Houghton-Le-Spring, N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 2 miles (S.) from Houghton-le-Spring. There are places of worship for Baptists, Kilhamites, Presbyterians, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Additional information: The Parish of St Nicholas Hetton-le-Hole was created from a chapelry within the ancient parish of Houghton le Spring, Durham. The parish was created in 1838.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers from 1832-2006 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/134 1832-1835 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Houghton-le-Spring are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  •  Chilton Moor 1876-1987 (EP/CM).
  •  Hetton-le-Hole (EP/HH)
  •  Eppleton 1887-1990 (EP/Ep).
  •  Hetton Downs
  •  Lyons (or Easington Lane) 1869-1973 (EP/EL.SM)
  •  Newbottle 1842-1976 (EP/Ne).
  •  West Herrington 1841-1847 EP/Ho).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

The Family History Library has a book of Baptisms that cover the Methodist Circuit from 1864-1918 It is an alphabetical Index by surname

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241354.

Poor Law Unions

Houghton le Spring Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2014, at 14:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,711 times.