Heworth, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Heworth, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Heworth, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heworth, Durham
200px
Heworth Parish Church Gateshead
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead PLU
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696
Bishop's Transcripts: 1768
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEWORTH, NETHER, a chapelry, in the parish of Jarrow, union of Gateshead, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 2¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Gateshead. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans of the Old and New Connexion, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Additional information: St Mary's Church Heworth was an ancient chapelry in the parish of Jarrow. The earliest chapelry on the site can be dated circa 685 A.D. from the coins found in 1812 and believed to have been laid under the foundation stone of that chapel, built in the reign of King Ecgfrid who died in that year. A reference in 1214 to the chapel and other references prior to rebuilding in 1684. Subsequent enlargement took place in 1711 and the present church was built in 1822.

In 1834 Heworth St Alban was created as a parish from within the parish boundaries.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/137 June 1768- March 1875 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records. Further transcripts for Heworth St Mary can be found in the Jarrow transcripts under DDR/EA/PBT/2/152 for June 1768- March 1809

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1696-1990 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Hew).

Non Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241346.


Poor Law Unions

Gateshead Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Heworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:08.
  • This page has been accessed 2,188 times.