Heworth St Alban, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Heworth St Alban, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Heworth St Alban, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heworth St Alban, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead PLU
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEWORTH, NETHER, a chapelry, in theparish of Jarrow, union of Gateshead, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 2¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Gateshead; with Bill Quay, Upper Heworth, and Windy-Nook. This chapelry, is bounded on the north by the Tyne. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans of the Old and New Connexion, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Additional information: Heworth St Alban was created from the parish of Heworth St Mary in 1843.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/136 1843-1879 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. It is also necessary to refer to the 1843 Heworth St Mary transcript and the transcript collections refer to Windy Nook St Albans for this parish.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241346.


Poor Law Unions

Gateshead Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,480 times.