Heytesbury, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Heytesbury, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Guide to Heytesbury, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heytesbury, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Heytesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Warminster
Registration District Warminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1582
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

HEYTESBURY (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, and formerly a representative borough and a market-town, in the union of Warminster, hundred of Heytesbury, Warminster and S. divisions of Wilts, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Warminster, and 93 (W. S. W.) from London. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Heytesbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1582-1880

FMP 1500s-1800s

IGI 1653-1858 1653-1895

NIM 1582-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464196.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 501-505. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  6. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 16:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,235 times.