Higher Kinnerton, FlintshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngHigher Kinnerton

A guide to genealogy in Higher Kinnerton, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Higher Kinnerton is a residential village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales, very close to the Wales-England border. Its sister village, Lower Kinnerton, is across the border in Cheshire, England.

Contents

History

All Saints Church, a chapelry within the English parish of Dodleston, is in Main Road, Higher Kinnerton. It is an active Anglican church within the Diocese, Archdeaconry, and Deanery of Chester.

The church was designed by Douglas and Fordham and built in 1893. It is constructed in Ruabon brick. In addition to a central spire, the chancel is carried up into another pyramidal spire

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Records

Church Records

All Saints Parish Church Higher Kinnerton Cheshire.jpg
As the village was part of an English parish, the records are held in that country.

The England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 index at FamilySearch Historic Records may be searched on-line for indexed entries for:

  • Parish registers for the township of Higher Kinnerton, 1868-1966
    Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1997
    Microfilm copy of original at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
    Higher Kinnerton is a township in Doddleston parish, but is in Flintshire.
    Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 115/12-13.
    Baptisms, 1868-1966 Marriages, 1894-1947 FHL BRITISH Film 2068902 Items 1-2

Nonconformist Records

Census Records

1841 FHL BRITISH Film 464323
1851 p. 645-659 FHL BRITISH Film 87164
1861 FHL BRITISH Film 543003
1871 FHL BRITISH Film 842131
1881 FHL BRITISH Film 1341853
1891 RG 12/2869 (4 fiches) FHL BRITISH Fiche 6097979

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

Bibliography

Hubbard, Edward (1986). The Buildings of Wales: Clwyd. London: Penguin. p. 371. ISBN 0 14 071052 3.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 00:50.
  • This page has been accessed 830 times.