Hillesøy, Troms, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hillesøy, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTroms County Gotoarrow.pngHillesøy

Guide to Hillesøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records


Church Records

Hillesøy is a parish in Lenvik clerical district, which contains parish registers for the parishes Lenvik with Rossfjord chapel and Hillesøy. It included Målselv parish until 1853.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

  • Prestens manntall 1666 [Lenvik og Hillesøy]. The 1666 clerical census for Lenvik and Hillesøy is available at the Family History Library.  Also available in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1701, 1801, 1865, 1875, 1891, 1900 see Lensvik clerical district.

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Book

Kulturbilder fra gamle Hillesøy by Carl Bertheussen and Jens Solvang. A history and a genealogy of the people and their farms in Hillesøy, Troms County, Norway.

Farm Book on the Internet

Hillesøy Kulturbilder fra gamle Hillesøy, Vol. 2 Hillesøy by Jens Solvang. This is like the printed book with no further search capabilities. It is necessary to go to the contents page to find the page number where the farm is listed.

Farm Names

26 Angstauren, 42 Astria, 8 Austein, 42 Baltestad, 42 Baltsfjord, 34 Bjørnstad, 22 Bjørnøen, 11 Bogen, 37 Botn, 46 Breivik, 7 Brensholmen, 4 Buvik indre, 30 Edøen, 1 Engenes, 18 Ersfjord, 33 Finneset, 32 Finvik, 34 Fjordbotn, 36 Galnslaatten, 31 Gavlen, 41 Giska, 2 Grepstad, 25 Haaøen, 40 Hekkingen, 24 Hersøen, 29 Hillesøen, 43 Husa med Husøen, 29 Kalholmen med Verholmen, 17 Kraakskar, 32 Lanes, 14 Lauklineset, 39 Laukvik, 10 Lillenes indre, 6 Marsletten, 14 Nordfjord, 12 Oldervik, 20 Rækvik, 23 Røsholmen, 38 Sand, 29 Sandholmen, 10 Sandnes, 3 Sandvik, 42 Selvaag, 21 Sessøen, 19 Skamtind, 13 Skjaaneset, 35 Skræddernes, 28 Sommerøen, 9 Storsletten, 10 Svinøen, 14 Synnøvjorden, 13 Sørfjord, 6 Torsnes, 43 Trælvik, 15 Tullengen, 27 Tussøen, 16 Vasstrand, 33 Yttergaarden, 45 Øifjord, 44 Øifjordbotn

'KULTURBILDER fra gamle Hillesøy Volume I, 'Bygdehistoria: Auvær, Botnhamn, Buvik, Fjordgård, Gammelgård, Gavlen, Hekkingen, Hersøy, Husøya, Håja, Leier, Nattmålsheia, Røgnesaksla, Røsholmen, Sommarøy, Storslett, Stønnesbotn, Svinøya, Tussø, Øyfjordvær

KULTURBILDER fra gamle Hillesøy Volume II, Gårdshistoria: Angstaurn, Austein, Baltestad, Bjørnøy, Bogen, Botn, Breivik, Brensholmen, Edøy, Engenes, Ersfjord, Fjordbotn, Fjordgård, Galnslåtta, Gavlen, Giska, Greipstad, Hekkingen, Hersøy, Hillesøy, Husa med Husøya, Håja, Indre Buvik, Kattfjord-Sørfjord, Krokskar, Ladnes, Lauklines, Laukvik, Nordfjord, Oldervik, Rekvik, Røsholmen, Sand, Sandsnes, Sandvik, Sessøy, Skamtind, Skreddernes, Sommarøy, Storsletta, Torsnes, Tulleng, Tussøy, Vasstrand, Ytre Buvik, Yttergården, Øyfjord


Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Bertheussen, Carl; Solvang, Jens: Kulturbilder fra gamle Hillesøy Bind I og II. Lenvik og Tromsø kommuner 1988


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 June 2015, at 16:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,100 times.