Hinton Parva, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hinton Parva, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Hinton Parva, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hinton Parva, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elstub and Everley
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Highworth and Swindon
Registration District Highworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; 1619
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cricklade
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

HINTON, LITTLE (St. Swithin), a parish, in the union of Highworth and Swindon, forming a distinct portion of the hundred of Elstub and Everley, Swindon and S. divisions of Wilts, 5¼ miles (E.) from Swindon. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hinton Parva, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Hinton Parva, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1605-1837


NIM 1605-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464196.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 518-521. Date accessed: 03 February 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 16:52.
  • This page has been accessed 931 times.