Hinwil parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Hinwil parish

Guide to Hinwil parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Hinwil

Affeltrangen
Allmann
Alpenblick
Ausser-Bernegg
Bachtel-Kulm
Bader
Balm
Balmacker
Balzenbühl
Barenbühl
Benklen
Berg
Bettschwendi
Bettholz
Betzikon
Birch
Boden bei Girenbad
Boden bei Ringwil
Bodenacker
Bodenholz
Bossikon
Breitacker
Breite
Breitenriet
Breitlen
Bühl

Ebnet
Egg
Ehretstock
Friedheim
Gammetswil
Geissacker
Girenbad
Girriet
Grimmetstall
Grund
Gsteindler
Hadlikon
Haldenholz
Heussenbühl
Heuweidli
Hintere Rüti
Hinter-Triemen
Hinwil
Holzweid
Hörnli
Hub
Katzentobel
Kellerloch
Kirchriet
Kopfholz
Langmatt

Leimgrub
Lenz
Lenzdörfli
Letten
Loch
Lochacker
Looren
Maistock
Moos
Neubruch
Neubrunnen
Neubühl
Niederhaus
Nieder-Orn
Ober-Bernegg
Ober-Erlosen
Oberhof
Ober-Orn
Platte
Rietli
Ringwil
Rotenstein
Sack
Sagen
Sagenberg
Schafrain

Schaufelberg
Schaugen
Schönenberg
Schönwies
Schopfhalden
Schulhaus
Schwendi
Spiegelberg
Stampf
Tannweid
Tarn
Tobel
Triemen
Tüelen
Unter-Bernegg
Unter-Erlosen
Unterhaus
Vordere Rüti
Weinhalde
Weissenbach
Wernetshausen
Wiesental
Wil
Winkel
Wolfacker
Zwischetbühlen

Surrounding Parishes

Bäretswil
Bubikon
Dürnten
Fischenthal
Gossau
Wald
Wetzikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Hinwil:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 701
1637 1185142 1 155
1640 1185144 2 387
1643 1185146 2 419
1646 1185148 1 731
1650 1185150 2 565
1657 1185179 1 80
1663 1185179 2 381
1670 1185154 1 729
1678 1185157 2 339
1682 1185159 2 557
1690 1185163 2 117
1695 1185166 2 543
1710 1185170 1 269

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Hinwil families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Hinwil belongs to the Wetzikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Wetzikon
Bahnhofstrasse 167
CH-8622 Wetzikon

Tel: +41 44 931 32 00

email: zivilstandswesen@wetzikon.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Hinwil prior to 1875:

Aeppli (1822, from
    Wildberg)
Bachmann
Bodmer
Bohli
Brunner
Buchmann
Diener
Egli
Egli (1784, from
    Bäretswil)
Egolf
Feurer
Forster
Furrer
Greutert
Grimm

Grob
Güttinger
Halbheer (1852, from
    Fischenthal)
Heusser
Hirzel (1797, from
    Wetzikon)
Honegger
Hotz
Hotz (1826, from
    Bubikon)
Hürlimann
Hürlimann (1830, from
    Wald)
Kägi
Knecht
Köng

Künzli
Lätsch
Leimgruber
Leuthold
Lutz
Maurer
Müdespacher (1822,
    from Mönchaltorf)
Müller
Muggli
Nauer
Pfenninger
Pfister
Reiner (1869)
Rüegg
Rüegg (1832, from
    Wetzikon)

Schaufelberger
Schenkel
Schneebeli
Schneider
Stauber
Stucki
Tobler
Walder
Weber
Weidmann (1811, from
    Germany)
Wild
Wolf
Wolfensberger
Zimmermann

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 February 2015, at 19:34.
  • This page has been accessed 384 times.