Hittnau parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Hittnau parish

Guide to Hittnau parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Originally part of the parish of Pfäffikon, Hittnau became an independent church parish in 1713.

Place Names

Locations within Hittnau

Aretshalde
Balchenstall
Beierschen
Berg
Breiteli
Brunnenwiese
Bühl
Buhn
Dürstelen
Einfang

Fischbach
Furt
Hasel
Haselweid
Hofhalde
Hüsli
Isikon
Knupp
Liebetsriet
Loch

Luppmen
Luspi
Mitsaal
Ober-Hittnau
Obermatt
Owachs
Platte
Rietwies
Sack
Schönau

Seewadel
Sonnenrain
Trogacker
Unter-Hittnau
Wilen
Zelg
Zimberg
Zimberghüsli
Zumiker

Surrounding Parishes

Bäretswil
Bauma
Pfäffikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

All census records for Hittnau are listed under Pfäffikon, as Hittnau only became an independent parish in 1713.

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Hittnau families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Hittnau belongs to the Pfäffikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Gemeindeverwaltung Pfäffikon
Hochstrasse 1
CH-8330 Pfäffikon

Tel: +41 44 952 52 52

email: gemeinde@pfaeffikon.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Hittnau prior to 1875:

Boller
Bosshard
Bünzli
Dietschi
Duthaler
Egli
Flachsmann
Furrer
Gross
Gut
Hotz

Isler
Jucker
Kägi
Kündig
Kunz
Lillich (1811, from Germany)
Linsi
Maurer
Meier / Meyer
Meili
Müller

Ott
Rüegg
Schmid
Schneider
Sidler
Strehler
Stutz
Trachsler
Weber
Weiss

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 390 times.