Hockham, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hockham, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Hockham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hockham, Norfolk
Great Hockham Church Holy Trinity.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shropham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland PLU
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOCKHAM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Wayland, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. W.) from Larlingford. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship in the parish.[1]

Hockham Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the Rockland deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Wayland 1837-1974

Church records

Hockham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Hockham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1563-1902
1564-1901
1563-1882
FS ATs 1725-1810 1725-1810 1725-1810
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1563-1903 Undefined 1563-1918 Undefined 1563-1882
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 486/1-9 Great with Little Hockham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.


http://apling.freeservers.com/1891Census/Hockham.htm transcript of 1891 census

Genealogy

MacArthur, Avril.  Bush and Linstead of Gt Hockham.  History of the family and descendents of James Bush, and Rebecca nee Algate, with one a descendant Mary Ann Bush, going to Tasmania. Article has surnames of Fisher, Blacklow, Linstead, Pawsey, Article covers years 1807-1995, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 8 pt. 3, pages 176-178, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new ser. v. 8, pt 3, Sept. 2011.

Squires, R.D. From Norfolk to London. Family tree of Robert James Squires and Mary Ann Syzling, and descendants with surnames. Tucker, Hill, Clark, De Vigie, Thompson, Read, Fitzwilliam Birch, Land, Brooks. Family move to Snetterton, Hockham, London - Southwark, and Crayford, Kent. Article dated 1851-1971, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol5.pt.4, page78-79. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.5, pt. 4.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Wayland Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 521-524. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 March 2015, at 02:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,946 times.