Hockley County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hockley County, Texas)

United States go to Texas go to Counties H go to Hockley County

Guide to Hockley County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Hockley County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Hockley County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 21, 1876
County Seat Levelland
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Hockley County Courthouse
County Courthouse Box 1
Levelland, TX 79336
Phone:806.894.3185

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate, court and
land records and land records from 1921[1]

County Clerk

802 Houston St. Suite 213
Levelland 79336
Phone:806-894-3185

District Clerk

802 Houston St. Suite 316
Levelland 79336
Phone: 806-894-8527

History

Parent County

1876--Hockley County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Levelland [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Anton | Arnett | Claudene | Levelland | Lockettville | Opdyke West | Pep | Ropesville | Roundup | Smyer | Sundown | Whitharral 

Neighboring Counties

Bailey  • Cochran  • Hale  • Lamb  • Lubbock  • Lynn  • Terry  • Yoakum

Bailey CountyLamb CountyHale CountyCochran CountyHockley CountyLubbock CountyYoakum CountyTerry CountyLynn CountyTX HOCKLEY.JPG

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources


Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190044
1910137211.4%
19201370%
19309,2986,686.9%
194012,69336.5%
195020,40760.8%
196022,3409.5%
197020,396−8.7%
198023,23013.9%
199024,1994.2%
200022,716−6.1%
201022,9351.0%

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hockley County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Hockley County, 2 volumes, by Lillian Brasher, 1976
  • Ropesville Resettlement Project, 1936-1943, Recipes, Memories, History, published 2010.  Available from the Ropesville Resettlement Project Facebook page.
  • Littlefield Lands by David B. Gracy II, 1968
  • Hockley County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps

Txhockley.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hockley County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records


Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce



Societies and Libraries

Hockley County Memorial Library
811 Austin St
Levelland, TX 79336
Phone: (806) 894-6750
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


  • Society Hill Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hockley County, Texas. Page 666 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 January 2016, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 13,399 times.