Holbeach, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Holbeach, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Holbeach, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holbeach, Lincolnshire
All+Saints Holbeach Lincolnshire.JPG
All+Saints Holbeach Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Holbeach
Registration District Holbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Market-Town and Parish History

Holbeach All Saints is a 14th century church in the Ancient Parish of Holbeach. The parish includes Fox's Low, Holbeach Bank, Holbeach Clough, Penny Hill, Holbeach Hurn, Holbeach Marsh, and Holbeach Drove.

Holbeach is a market town with a market charter dating from 1252.

From this  parish the Ecclesiastical Parish of Holbeach Fen St John was formed in 1840; a mission church was also established at Holbeach Drove.  This church was without dedication.

From this parish the Ecclesisatical Parish of Holbeach Marsh St Mark was formed in 1869. Holbeach Marsh Ecclesisatical Parish also had the chapel of ease of  Holbeach March St Matthew which dates from 1869.

From this parish the Ecclesisastical parish of Holbeach Hurn St Luke was formed in 1870.

HOLBEACH (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 12 miles (S.) from Boston, 42 (S. E.) from Lincoln, and 106 (N. by E.) from London. [1]


Civil Registration

This parish was within the Holbeach sub-district of Holbeach registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Holbeach All Saints Par 1, Holbeach Hurn Par 1 Holbeach Marsh Par 1 Holbeach St John Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Holbeach

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438753.

Poor Law Unions

Holbeach Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 524-527. Date accessed: 24 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 17:45.
  • This page has been accessed 3,029 times.