Holywell, Flintshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Holywell, Flintshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngHolywell

A guide to genealogy in Holywell, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Holywell (Welsh: Treffynnon) is a town, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the town was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

Contents

History

In 1831: "The town of Holywell is situated on the estuary of the Dee nearly opposite to Parkgate. ... It is built on the declevity of a hill gradually extending to the sea, the surrounding hills forming a kind of amphitheatre. ... The town of Holywell ranks the first in the principality of Wales. Its inhabitants are intelligent and enterprising, and few places can boast of society being better cemented, or good cheer and hospitality more uniformly practised." [From The Histories of Holywell, Flint, St. Asaph and Rhuddlan, Poole, 1831]

For more information on Holywell see: Genuki - Holywell

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464325.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2016, at 04:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,709 times.