Hommedal, Aust-Agder, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hommedal, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngAust-Agder County Gotoarrow.pngHommedal

Guide to Hommedal, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Contents

Church Records

Microfilm at the Family History Library for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for the parishes Landvik and Eide in Hommedal clerical district. Included Herefoss parish until 1875 when it became Herefoss clerical district. Parish registers from 1690-1929.

Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet [Digital Archives]

Hommedal:  1910-1918, Banns register

Hommedal/Eide:  1690-1860, 1863-1908

Hommedal/Herefoss:  1690-1738, 1740-1886.

Hommedal/Landvik:  1690-1897, 1905-1929.

Census Records

  • 1660's:  Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666.  This census for Hommedal prestegjeld (cleircal district) is available on microfilm at the Family History Library and include the parishes of Landvik, Herefoss, Eide, and Hommedal. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.


  • 1660's:  Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666.  This census foe Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is availavle on microfilm at the Family History Library.  It includes the parishes of Landvik, Herefoss, Eide, andHommedal. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.


  • 1701:  1701 optatt av fogderi, sorenskrivere og sogneprester ifølge kongebrev av 26 Juli 1701.  The 1701 census for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at the Family History Library an included the parishes ofHommedal, Landvik, andEide.  The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.


  • 1801:  Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  This census for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library.  The 1801 census (b. 32) for Hommedal clerical district include Landvik,Eide, Hommedal, and Herefoss parishes. It lists the farm name, person,s name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.  A typewritten edition with indexes is available on microfiche. It is called "Mikrokortutgåva av 1801-teljina".  Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1825: 1825 folketelling for sognene Landvik og Eide i Hommedal prestegjeld (Aust-Agder).  The 1825 census for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  The 1825 census for the parishes of Landvik og Eide and Hommedal clerical district. Includes the farmnames, head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying in household, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.


  • 1865:  Folketælling 31 December 1865.  The 1865 census for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library, and include the parishes of Landvik, Herefoss, Eide andHommedal.  This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.  Also availble online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at theNorwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway. 
  • 1875:  Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. and include the parishes of Hommedal, Lavik, and Eide.  This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.


  • 1900:  Folketelling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900.  The 1900 census for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at the Family History Library for the parishes of Hommedal, Eide, and Landvik.  This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.


Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Probate Records

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Sand (Vestre Nedenes) judicial district to 1824
*1826-1879 Family History Library
*1826-1907 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet]


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 April 2015, at 15:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,376 times.