Hooton, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hooton, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Hooton

Guide to Hooton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

HOOTON, a township, in the parish of Eastham, union, and Higher division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 9 miles (N. by W.) from Chester; There is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Hooton Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Hooton St Paul Chapelry (1862) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1862-1934

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of Hooton Chapelry, 1862-1954 Cheshire Record Office: P 306/4706/1, 3-5, 8.

Parish Registers: Hooton Film
Baptisms, 1862-1934.
2186840 Item 12
Marriages, 1863-1954. Banns of marriages, 1863-1937.
2186841 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Hooton Chapelry, 1892-1901 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 113

Bishops Transcripts: Hooton
Baptisms, 1892-1893, 1897-1901..
1647432 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Catholic

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records of Hooton Hall Catholic Chapel, 1805-1849 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 4/5071/1-2.

Church records Church records of Hooton Hall Catholic Chapel Film
Baptisms, marriages, deaths, 1805-1849.
2197775 Item 8

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-50)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 July 2015, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 783 times.