Hope, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hope, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Hope, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hope, Derbyshire
Hope St Peter Derbyshire.jpg
Hope St Peter Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chapel en le Frith PLU
Registration District Bakewell; Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598; Separate registers exist for Fairfield beginning 1738
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661; Separate records exist for Fairfield beginning 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hope is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Wardlow Mires, Woodland Hope, Woodlands, Abney, Abney and Abney Grange, Aston, Bradwell, Brough and Shatton, Fairfield, Fernilee, Great Hucklow, Great Hucklow with Wardlow Mires, Grindlow, Hazlebache, Hazlebadge, Highlow, Hope Woodlands, Little Hucklow, Nether Padley, Offerton, Stoke, Thornhill, and Wardlow, Derbyshire.

HOPE (St. Peter), a parish, and formerly a market-town, partly in the union of Chapel-en-le-Frith, and partly in that of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hope parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Hope St Peter (1599) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1813-1912
  NONE
1754-1798
  NONE
1835-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Hope St Peter includes the townships of Aston, Brough and Shatton, Highlow, Offerton, Thornhill and part of Hope Woodlands. It previously included before their transfer to Bradwell chapelry in 1868 Bradwell, Abney and Abney Grange, Grindlow, Hazelbadge, Greta Hucklow, Little Hucklow and part of Wardlow.

It also included most of Hope Woodlands prior to the transfer to Derwent Woodlands, Derbyshire   and Fernilee prior to transfer to Buxton, Derbyshire and also nether Padley and Stoke prior to transfer to Eyam, Derbyshire The parish also include the chapelry of Fairfield, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1828 has deposited registers Bap 1599-1969 Mar 1598-1659,1666-1987 Burials 1598-1659, 1665-1898 Banns 1754-1767, 1798-1823, 1884-1969

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap1661-1868 Mar 1661-1852 Burials 1661-1868

Non Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.


Poor Law Unions

Chapel en le Frith Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hope on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 545-547.Date accessed: 10 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,761 times.