Hopton (near Lowestoft), Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes
Hopton (near Lowestoft), Suffolk
Hopton - Church of All Saints.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office


Parish History

HOPTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 4¾ miles (N. by W.) from Lowestoft. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Also known as 'Hopton on Sea.'[2]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Church Records

Hopton (near Lowestoft), Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Hopton (near Lowestoft), Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images



Parish registers for Hopton, near Lowestoft, 1673-1902

Content Film
Baptisms 1673-1882 Marriages 1675-1680, 1695-1835 Banns 1755-1901 Burials 1674-1902 FHL BRITISH Film
1471185 Items 15-24

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640.

Poor Law Unions 

Registration Districts

Hopton is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Probate Court

Suffolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes H through K


England Jurisdictions 1851


  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-547. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 01:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,464 times.