Horgen parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Horgen

Aeussere Rietwies
Alte Bocke4n
Alt-Unterhaus
Arn
Arnhof
Badenmatt
Bätpur
Bocken
Boden
Bruppacher
Büel
Eschtürli
Fischenrüti
Gottshalden
Gstalden
Gwandlen
Hanegg
Hasenacker
Hinter-Klausen

Hinteres Maurenmoos
Hintere Rietwies
Horgen
Hüsliweber
Käpfnach
Kalkofen
Kniebreche
Kräh
Langacker
Längeberg
Matte
Meilenbach
Melchgaden
Mittlere Rietwies
Moorschwand
Mürg
Näf
Neuhaus
Neuhof

Neumatt
Obere Hanegg
Ober-Hinterrüti
Oberhof
Rank
Rietli
Risi
Rüteli
Schlitten
Schnegg
Schüeppenloch
Sennhütte Bocken
Sihlbrugg, Station
Sihlwald
Sonnau
Sonnenberg
Sonnenheim
Steinkratten
Stengelen

Stockacker
Stotzweid
Tableten
Töbeli
Untere Hanegg
Unterhaus
Unter-Hinterrüti
Unterwerk Sihlbrugg
Unter-Widenbach
Vorder-Arn
Vorder-Klausen
Vorderes Maurenmoos
Waldegg
Waldhof
Wassergass
Weid
Widenbach
Wührenbach

Surrounding Parishes

Hausen am Albis
Hirzel
Langnau am Albis
Oberrieden
Thalwil
Wädenswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Horgen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 1 134
1637 1185141 2 201
1640 1185143 1 301
1643 1185145 1 411
1646 1185147 2 163
1649 1185149 1 21
1654 1185151 1 75
1657 1185179 1 111
1670 1185153 1 275
1678 1185152 3 401
1683 1185159 1 479
1690 1185164 1 251
1699 1185164 2 263
1709-1710 1185171 2 449
1749 1185173 2 293

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Horgen families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Horgen belongs to the Horgen civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Horgen
Bahnhofstrasse 10
Postfach
CH-8810 Horgen

Tel: +41 44 728 42 99

email: zivilstandsamt@horgen.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Horgen prior to 1875:

Abegg (from
    Rüschlikon)
Aeberli (1875, from
    Bonstetten)
Anton
Bänninger (1875, from
    Embrach)
Baumann (1826, from
    Hirzel)
Bebie (1875, from
    Hombrechtikon)
Biber
Bickel
Bollier
Bosshard (1875, from
    Sternenberg)
Brändli
Bruppacher

Burkhard
Burkhardt
Fluck
Frick
Gattiker
Götschi
Gugolz
Hitz
Hotz
Huber
Höhn
Hüni
Hürlimann (from
    Hirzel)
Isler (1853)
Jornot
Kleiner
Knüssi

Kölliker (1865)
Kunz (1859)
Landis
Leuthold
Maurer
Münch
Nägeli
Ringger
Risler
Ryf
Rysler
Schäppi
Schärer
Schelling
Scheuch
Schmid
Schönenberger (1875,
    from Wildberg)

Schwarzenbach
Schüepp
Sing
Stäubli
Stapfer
Staub
Steinmann
Sträuli
Streuli
Stünzi
Suter
Trüb
Widmer
Zürcher
Zürrer
Zwald

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2014, at 14:35.
  • This page has been accessed 191 times.